“Tails” from the Cathouse…

Standard

Apologies to any younger readers who aren’t familiar with the term “cathouse”. It’s supposed to be a joke. I guess it is, only without that annoying funny bit at the end.

http://www.thefreedictionary.com/cathouse

No, I haven’t started a brothel, although it is a lifelong dream of mine to be a Madam. Friends and I were surmising at one point that the rundown motel on Lindsay Street near Highway 7 might be turned into a safely-run, unionized, woman-friendly whorehouse…but I digress.

What’s happened here is there are now three cats living in my home.

My fiance arrived with a cat. It was part of the deal. I knew this from day one. I have previously discussed the adjusted feeding routines, which everycat seems to accept. It hasn’t really been a problem.

I was concerned that The Amazing Grace, Tiny Queen of Everything, would give young Yoda a hard time. I think every home with pets has one – the One Who Rules the Roost. Grace is ours. She’s little, but she’s a real bossypants. Muffy, her counterpart, tends to be more laid back, and ignores people (particularly children – she does NOT like children) and/or runs away from them. I didn’t think she’d really care one way or the other.

Quite the opposite has occurred! Although Miss Grace has done a little hissing, she really doesn’t seem terribly interested in the Gentleman Caller. Muffy, on the other hand, sits up on the headboard, peels her ears back, and growls low down in her throat like I’ve never heard!

And what does Yoda do?

Bless his little heart, he flops down on the floor and just stares at her like she’s nuts. The Force is strong with this one.

So, it hasn’t come down to any actual physical confrontation, and I’m pretty sure it won’t, at this point. Muffy’s full of hot air, and Yoda’s calling her on it. Grace has been living up to her name – although last night she challenged him when he just wanted to go downstairs for a pee. Jeez, Grace, a guy’s gotta pee.

Both Muffy and Yoda have decided that they like to sleep with Den during the day (he works nights). I have a strict closed-door policy at night, because Grace drives me crazy when I’m trying to sleep. Hard to sleep when someone’s sitting on your head licking your ears. Den’s a much heavier sleeper than I am, though, and they don’t seem to bother him. Will this be the catalyst needed to bring about an uneasy truce? Or will our bed be the Final Battleground?

Stay tuned.

What? What?

