Lemon Aid

Standard

I’ve blogged about my car before, last year, I think. We had a little adventure today, my little red car and me.
car

My car is 13 years old, and has 285,000 km on it. At this point, it owes me nothing.

Last winter, we had a bad ice storm. I broke the key off in the trunk lock trying to open it. No worries, as I had an electronic clicker thingy. Except I lost it a couple of months ago. So the only way to get into the trunk is by folding down the back seat. Works okay, I don’t use it much, really.

At some point, my driver side window stopped working. I had the garage look at it. They wanted $300 to replace it. I decided I could live without it, so now it just stays closed. It slipped a little, and I have the crack taped up with orange duct tape.

The other day, the right turn indicator started clicking double-fast, so I checked when I got home. Sure enough – rear turn signal bulb is burnt out.

AND…

I can’t even make hand signals, because the window won’t open.

Now, I can change a lightbulb, contrary to what one might think. How many Lynnes does it take to change a lightbulb? Well, normally just one.

BUT…

You have to open the trunk to do it.

HAHAHAHAHAHA, oh, Universe, you’re SO EFFING FUNNY.

I went to my garage, and explained the problem to the garage guy, who just kind of rolled his eyes and shook his head. He came out to my car with me, and had a look. Now, remember too, that I commute a bit, and the Hobo Monkey Club holds weekly meetings in my back seat. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it. It’s not pretty.

So buddy lowers the back seat, climbs into my trunk and changes the the bulb for me. AND DOESN’T EVEN CHARGE ME ANYTHING.

Mister guy, you are my favourite person today. I spent most of today at court, so really, it’s not a stretch. I did have lunch with my friends Linda and Sasha and baby Hunter, but sorry, they are tied for second place, under the circumstances.

I may have to get a new car soon. I have to get an emissions test before my birthday, and I doubt it’s gonna pass. I haven’t had A/C for years, only two speeds on my fan work, I don’t have anti-lock brakes, and I’m missing two hubcaps.

But I love that freaking car. Also, my fiance kissed me in that car for the very first time. But, all good things must come to an end, and this, I think, is the last summer of the little red Cavalier.

Namaste, car.

2 responses »

What? What?

