$1.40 for 8 at Dollarama

Standard

I’m officially all creeped out, and through with online matchmaking, at least for now.

I’ve taken down my profiles.  Also, for the first time ever, I’ve blocked someone’s e-mails.

Honestly, how weird is it to write cheesy love poetry to someone you’ve never met?  I e-mailed back and forth with this dude a couple of times, offering no revealing or sexy personal-type  information.

Red flags:  No questions about me whatsoever, and no comments on anything I provided.  AAAAALLLL about him and how great he is.  Also, he sent me the same weird diatribe twice, which leads me to believe that this is a cut ‘n paste job he sends out in bulk to anyone who’ll respond to him.  He claims to be a highly educated engineer, but he can’t spell worth crap. Also, all about how he wants someone to stand beside HIM and understand HIM – nothing about any kind of reciprocal arrangement at all.

And the poetry?  Well, that’s just weird.  You can’t fall in love with a picture, dude.  Generic declarations of love, obviously not tailored to anyone in particular, are just very, very disturbing.

The dog thing is looking better and better.  I’m gonna call him Joey Ramone.  It should solve almost all my problems, and batteries are cheap.

4 responses »

  1. 1. I’m with Sandy about “the talk” about men. I’m no help when it comes to puppy talk.
    2. When I added “men who can spell” to my “likes” on my dating profile, it helped weed out those who are too serious about themselves (ie: kinda “self absorbed”) and those without a sense of humour.

    • I almost wish I could just say, look, buddy, read my blog, and if they get it, then they’re okay. Unfortunately, that’s more information than I’m willing to provide to random wackos.

What? What?

