Statistics – Ishn’t That VEIRD?

Standard

There’s a statistic floating around, I’m not sure where it came from, but I’ve heard it many times, that about 10% of the population is non-heterosexual.

I just went through my facebook friends. I have 139 friends, so, 140 if you count me in there. Let’s count me, because that makes it a nice round number.

To my knowledge, 14 of these people are openly L/G/B/T. That’s a rough number, based on certainties; some of them I don’t really know well enough to know what their orientation is, or whether they’re out or not.

For you non-math people out there (like me) that’s – EXACTLY ten percent.

Isn’t that weird?

And did you know, 72% of all statistics are made up on the spot?

I just think it’s weirdly interesting that statistically my facebook friend base is so bang on in this area.

PS – Actually, I just realized that I missed at least two people, so it’s a little over 10%. I told you I wasn’t good at math. Anything over ten and I have to take my socks off.

3 responses »

What? What?

