Amazing Grace

Standard

I think I have to do something very hard tonight, and I’m not looking forward to it.

Grace hasn’t been well for a long time. She’s lost a lot of weight over the last six months, and lately, she just doesn’t seem to be able to keep food down at all. She has just as much personality as ever, she’s vocal and purry, but she mostly just wants to cuddle up somewhere warm.

I think it came home for me a few weeks ago when I caught Muffy grooming her. Muffy and Grace are sisters (or half-sisters and first cousins, we’re not sure, they’re from Marmora), and they are sworn, mortal enemies. Most peculiar behaviour on Muffy’s part. I think she knows something’s up.

She’s sixteen years old. That’s a pretty good run for a cat.

Grace, or The Amazing Grace, is the best cat I’ve ever had. She is a friend to the friendless, a comforter, and a confidant. I love that cat.

I’ve talked to both the boys about it. We’re all pretty sad.

I don’t want her to suffer. She has moments of activity, where you can see sassy old Grace coming out, but mostly – she’s just not well at all.

We’re going to see what the vet says tonight, but I’m not getting my hopes up.

6 responses »

  1. My cat’s name was Charisma. I can say I know exactly how you feel. It is very sad. My cat only lived for 6 years but in that short time she was a very important family member to my girls and myself. My best friend. I am thinking of you at this time

  2. The boys and Deb and I will light a candle for you and Grace, and your family tonight. We will send our best loving energy your way – we hope for peace, for all of you in this heartbreaking time…

What? What?

