Really the Last Post for 2011. Seriously.

Standard

Okay, so I already did a year-end wrap-up edition. This one is the ribbon and the bow, then, I suppose.

This year, I started out new again, on my own. It’s been surprisingly UN-lonely, as I’ve had a lot of social opportunities as a single person that I would not have had as part of a couple. I miss that relationship, don’t get me wrong, I’m sad that it ended, and occasionally I wonder if I did the right thing in ending it, but the personal growth and self-esteem have been worth the heartache. I’m the Bear Who Putters Alone, and I needed to learn that about myself.

This year, I’ve started taking my health seriously, and a daily workout has become such a part of my routine that I start feeling weird and anxious if I skip a day or two. As a result, this year I have been on no antidepressants whatsoever, unless endorphins are an antidepressant. Oh wait. They are. So, this year, I’ve been making my own antidepressants, and like everything else that’s good, homemade is better.

This year, I’ve been thinking more about society, and equality, and social justice, and have been much more vocal about the rights of people who have no voices. Thanks Jack. “Love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair,” a homegrown, heartfelt sentiment that can only be good for everyone.

This year marked the ends of Muammar Gaddafi and Kim Jong-Il, who have joined the ranks of fellow larger-than-life supervillains Saddam Hussein, Osama Bin Laden and Adolph Hitler in death. I seriously worry about the state of the world, and more particularly the shoot-’em-up cowboy mentality of our neighbours to the south. Maybe the whole world isn’t just like you. Maybe they are wrong. But just maybe you are wrong, and the American Way ISN’T the best way. Agree to disagree. Yes, we need to keep an eye on human rights, worldwide, and the UN is on that. But just as I think hockey doesn’t need goons, nor does Planet Earth need them.

This year, my boys turned into men. This is the last full year in which I’ll have a child at home. I’m proud that both have chosen careers in social services, rather than opting for high-paying power paths. They’re smart kids, they could have pursued any path they wanted (well, except possibly the ballet), but they chose to try to make the world a better place and to speak for the voiceless. I love those guys.

So, this is REALLY the last post for 2011. Seriously. Well, unless I think of something else. Another year of change, growth, and necessary reinvention.

Namaste, kids. Love to everyone, and I hope 2012 brings you untold blessings.

One response »

What? What?

