The Tip of the Iceberg

Standard

I’ve met a lot of people lately who read my blog, or know me through facebook only.  Hi!  You’re delightful!  I like that you have this idea in your head of who I am based on my words, because I come off so much better when I get to control the content.  But keep in mind, this is not the real “me”, or the whole picture.

The problem with blogging is that you need to be very careful about what you say.  There’s topics I don’t touch on here, because you just never know who’s reading it.  Family problems, work issues and romantic partners are all off-limits.  This isn’t a place to slam people or to get revenge.

But boy oh boy, sometimes I want to tell you all the real truth, about real things that are really bugging me and cutting deep.

For one thing, nobody wants to read a blog that’s completely depressing and all about how unfair and shitty life is.  No one wants to read a blog slamming other people, because no one wants to wonder if they’re next.

No one is next.  Highschool is sooooo over. 

I want this to be a place where I can express my thoughts on issues, not people.  Anything I say about people on this blog is positive.

Not that my blog is a big ol’ lovefest where I say nice things about people whether I like them or not.  I just choose what I say carefully, and omit negatives.  I know lots of great people who do lots of great things, and I’m happy to tell you about them.  The not-great stuff, I keep to myself.  It’s only fair, I wouldn’t want to be slammed on someone else’s blog, because I, my friends, am far from perfect.  Maybe that’s why it seems like I’m harder on myself than I am on others.  It’s just careful editing, really.

No, I do this to get things off my chest, examine myself and my own motivations, share my joys and my frustrations, and to write.  I always wanted to be a writer, but making a living got in the way.  So now, in a tiny way, I am one.

It is deeply satisfying, and completely true, but not truly complete, nor should it ever be.

Namaste.

2 responses »

What? What?

