The WHAT Channel?

Standard

Most people who watch TV have at least one TLC program that they find abhorrent.  I fail to see what most of these shows have to do with the concept of “learning”.  Isn’t it “The Learning Channel”?  Maybe they need to rethink that branding.  I don’t know. 

But SOMEBODY is watching these shows, enough so that they stay on the air.  Somebody thinks it’s okay to dress little girls like hookers (Toddlers and Tiaras).  Somebody thinks it’s cool that the Duggars have, like, I don’t know, 86 kids or something.  Somebody likes watching people with uncontrollable hoarding problems.  It’s probably all because it just makes us feel like we’re less weird.  THEY are weirder than ME, making me comparatively more okay. 

My big oh-my-God-I couldn’t-even-watch-this-on-Percocets show is, surprisingly, none of the above.  And you’re talking to someone who watched “Hogan Knows Best” while heavily medicated after surgery, and was convinced by the end that maybe the Hulkster should call the shots.

The one show I can’t stand? 

Extreme Couponing.

These people really, really disturb me.  It’s rampant consumerism taken to Olympic levels.  They cheerfully admit that they don’t need most of the stuff.  They have entire rooms, garages, sheds, devoted to storing their stuff.  They clear shelves, and then think it’s funny that the poor bastard behind them can’t get a stick of fucking deodorant. HE doesn’t think it’s too damn funny, neither does the cashier.

I like a good deal as much as the next person, goodness knows.  I don’t want to pay more than I have to, and if I can get a discount on something I need, why, that’s lovely. 

The key word here is, of course “need”.  We’re so conditioned here in the West, to think that we “need” things.  We need food, we need warm clothing, we need shelter.  We don’t “need” walk-in closets.   We CAN live without an ensuite bathroom.  And a stockpile of 746 sticks of deodorant?  Call me out on this if you want, but I think it’s superfluous. 

And don’t even get me started on the “Black Friday” sales in the US.  People will break your damn leg for $50 off a TV.  They probably already have seven TVs. 

Really?  Get all these people into some kind of rehab.  I think they’re unwell, or at least temporarily off-kilter. 

2 responses »

  1. I agree wholeheartedly with your comments on extreme couponing. I however feel there is only one circumstance that this type of hoarding is acceptable. I lived in the Arctic for 2 years and during this time I saw people buy a years worth of shampoo, soap and other toiletry items because it is so expense to purchase where you live. It is cheaper to buy a years worth in the south and transport it to the north. Having said that, I do feel that extreme couponing is indeed a type of hoarding. These people face the same psychological problems. Who in their "right mind" would feel the need to buy such an amount of these items just because they could save a buck unless they had underlying issues

  2. Oh, I completely agreed. My parents taught at a school in Pukatawagan, MB for years, and buying anything locally was prohibitively expensive. It makes sense, and is completely reasonable, to buy a year's worth of supplies if you live in a remote community, because of prohibitive cost and need! But as you've noted, these aren't people in a situation of need.

What? What?

