Out There, Somewhere

Standard

Odd when you find out that someone you thought was out there in the world – isn’t. 

I found out recently that a lawyer I used to work for passed away a year and a half ago.  I liked Alan, he was good to work for.  He paid me well, and was always very generous with his time and advice, as well.  He had integrity, he was witty and kind. He was respected in the legal community.  I never felt I had to be embarrassed calling up anyone and saying “Hi, it’s Lynne from Alan Harries’ office”.  

He retired in 1995, and I didn’t often run into him after that.  I know he and Pat traveled a lot, they loved sailing.  I thought of him the odd time, but I really didn’t have any more contact with him.

I’m saddened by this.  He was only 66, which really, these days is very young.  I’m more saddened by the fact that I didn’t even know, that I assumed he was still out there in the world.  This happened to me once before, when I found out an old friend from highschool Guitar Club days, Wendy Patterson, had passed away several years before I ever heard about it. 

What’s the etiquette here?  Is it too late to send a card?  Probably.  Should we look up everyone we ever knew to make sure they’re okay?  Unrealistic. 

I’m just a little sad.  He was a good man.  I liked him.

Cheers, Alan.

One response »

  1. I don't think it's too late. I guess the test would be your own preference of whether or not you'd like to receive a card about a loved one who'd passed away, say, with some kind remembrances of the person. If you feel like you want to send one, I'd say do. His family still misses him, I wager.

What? What?

