My Embarrassing Secret

Standard

Shh…c’mere…closer – I gotta tell you something.  Something embarrassing.

I think I have  – too much – yarn…  As my knitting friend Naomi put it, I’m approaching SABLE – Stash Acquisition Beyond Life Expectancy.

Most of it, I have plans for.  Honest.  I do.  I just don’t knit fast enough.  No one could knit fast enough.  Also, there’s the spinning.  The spinning has become a bit of an issue.

First, I just used to spin a little with my drop spindle.  It was fun.  It took a long time.  It was meditative.

Then (said the caveperson) came the wheel.  The wheel changed everything.  I can spin faster.  I can ply yarns.  I can make lovely thick yarns, thin yarns, quickly, easily.  It’s meditative too.  The wheel changed everything.

So, I had a lot of yarn.

Then came  – the drum carder.  The drum carder changed everything.  I can card out stubborn fibres, making them easier to spin.  I can blend fibres, make new colours, patterns and textures.  The drum carder changed everything.

Then, I went to a textile show at Lang Pioneer Village this summer, and became enamored with natural dyes.  The colours!  The variety!  The process, the chemical changes, the shading and subtlety.  Natural dyes changed everything.

Also, I’m in a yarn store once a week for a knitting social.  I spent my vacation on a yarn tour buying more yarn. 

So, I have a lot of freakin’ yarn.  I’ve tried selling at craft markets, and it sells fine, but I don’t like doing it.  My yarns are too personal to me, I don’t like the commercial aspect, and I don’t want to constantly explain the cost to people.  I never made much money, basically recouped the cost of my materials, maybe a little off the top.  I’ve never been in it for the money.   I don’t want to get into the bother of online sales, either, plus I really wouldn’t even know how to set it up, although lots of people do it, I know, and they’re not all brain surgeons and rocket scientists. 

I think I’m going to be giving away quite a bit of handspun yarn over the next little while.

It’s not like I don’t know anyone who knits.  You are my people, knitters. 

Namaste (which translates, in this case, to “I recognize the alpaca in you”).

3 responses »

What? What?

