Stuff

Standard

Welcome to Blogging As An Excuse Not to Get Out of Bed.  I’m your host.

Today, I’m going to the Peterborough Pride Parade with friends Linda and Patti.  I bought awesome orange shoes for the occasion.  Also, I am making guacamole for the post-parade BBQ, cuz I’m awesome like that, and the avocados are at their peak.

Tomorrow, I really have to clean up this joint.  Strip the beds, wash sheets, vacuum, clean the bathroom.  Once Thing Two moves out of here next year, I’m paring down, sorting out, discarding.  I have too much stuff.  I’m tired of stuff.  Stuff gets in my way.  I have stuff in boxes that I haven’t even seen in years.  I have other people’s stuff.  I have tired old dusty dirty stuff.

I lived with someone who had a stuff obsession.  Every square inch of wall space, every bit of floor – stuff.  It was overwhelming, depressing, a great weight.  Later, I watched someone I loved drowning in stuff.  I don’t want to be one of those guys.  And when I die, all that stuff?  It just becomes junk that someone else has to sift sadly though, and discard.

The stuff I want is the beautiful stuff, the useful stuff, the meaningful stuff.  All that other stuff needs to get out of my life.

2 responses »

  1. I agree wholeheartedly with your stuff thoughts. I just recently had a conversation with a friend who is a prisoner to his stuff. I occasionally have what I call my war on clutter to de-stuff my life. I think it's time for another.

  2. You're right on the money with your stuff thoughts! Keeping the stuff that's beautiful, useful and (to a degree) meaningful (I have issues around "meaningful" cuz everything can be meaningful to moi) is a good way to be happy!I destuffed Charlie's toy box and book shelves last weekend – toy box is g-g-gone! Boyoboy his room looks nice. Bigger too.

What? What?

