GOOOOAAAAAALLL

Standard

Where is your vuvuzela?

Well, this is going to sound strange, but I had a fantastic appointment at the surgeon’s office yesterday.  I am so impressed with him.  Apparently it’s not urgent that it be done right away, unless complications develop, and there are two ways to do the procedure – one involves a mesh that tends to be prone to infection (that’s not cool) and one just involves sewing the muscle back to itself.   The second method has a much higher success rate.

However, to be a candidate for the second method, I have to lose some weight.  I put on quite a bit after quitting smoking this time around.  That’s not cool.  However, he said that I wouldn’t be a candidate for it if I were a smoker anyway.

It’s something I want to do anyway, and I’m halfway there on the exercise front.  It’s just a matter of changing my diet at this point.  Meh.  I’ve done it before, I can do it again.

What I liked, though, was that this thin, fit doctor, didn’t treat me like I was lazy or stupid for being overweight.  He praised me for quitting smoking, and said he thought I was “extremely motivated” and would very likely be successful.

So, my goal is to drop *gasp* 80 pounds by next May.  I’ve never been one to own a scale, I didn’t really know how high my weight had gotten.  Well, I went out and bought one yesterday.

In my experience, people who are dieting are bores.  I’ll try not to bore you.  I think if you constantly think about your diet, and what you can and can’t have, and it becomes the main focus of your conversation, then you’re setting yourself up for failure.  Find another focus, stop talking about food, just do it.  I actually do know whereof I speak, as I’ve done it before.

I’m spending the next 3 days on holiday with a thin person.  I’m going to watch and learn.  They say if you want to advance in a company, you should do what the boss does – dress like them, talk like them, behave like them.  So, wouldn’t the same theory hold true?

My goal is, for the first time since I was about 16, to be a thin non-smoker.  I’ve been one, and I’ve been the other, but never at the same time.  So, here we go.

What? What?

