Polly Sporin

Standard

I’m trying new things.

I went to Roller Derby last night.  I went by myself, no one else who wanted to go was available.  I could have stayed home alone, but I chose to go instead.  And you know what?  It was fantastic.  I yelled and screamed and clapped and had a great time along with everyone else there.

I think I conditioned myself at some point to think that I need a “date” for everything.  Apparently, I don’t.  I brought ME.  We had a great time.

What a super sport for women!   It’s not watered-down or “girlified”.  It’s tough and fast, with an awesome sense of humour.  If I was 20 years younger and didn’t have arthritis in my hips and knees, I’d go for it.  I really like that there’s all sizes and shapes of women on these teams, and they all rock it.  I need a roller derby name – Polly Sporin?  There was a Lana Cane on the Barrie team.  I also like “Zombabe”, “Kim Kar-Smash-Ian”, “Wall of Confusion”, “Kimminent Danger” – oh, lots of them.  It was a super time.  Now I want to see “Whip It”. 

Most of these women weren’t even born when Roller Derby went around the first time!  Skinny Minnie WHO?  Miller, that’s who, and she’ll kick your ass. 

BOOYAH!

What? What?

