Doomsday? Doesn’t Look Like It.

Standard

WTF?  I’m still HERE?  What happened to the rapture?  Either I should have been taken, or I should have been left to face my doom.  It kind of looks like the first nice day in over a week, not doomy at all, and as far as I know, no one’s been taken, although to be fair, I haven’t checked the NY Times website yet, so I could be wrong on that.

See, here’s what I think.  There is a God.  God loves us.  We are His/Her children, and that love is unconditional.  It doesn’t MATTER that we screw up over and over again, we are still loved.  There is no way my loving deity is going to pull the plug on the world and just take His favourites.  We’re ALL favourites.  Some of us are better behaved than others, but we’re all loved.  Did your mom stop loving you when you got a D in history?  No?  How about when you broke the living room window playing baseball?  No?

I don’t understand the use of the threat of “Judgment Day” by religious groups.  Seems to me like it’s the ultimate empty threat.  Who are these individual groups to presume that THEY are the ones who will be chosen, anyway?  What if it turns out God really only digs Asian chicks, or people who like the Ramones (in which cased I’m going, fer shure)?

It’s pretty arrogant to presume you know the mind of the Almighty.  I do know this:  it’s better if we all try to be nice to each other, whether we believe in God or not.  It’s just better. We don’t all have to be the same to be loved. 

What? What?

