Assumptions

Standard

I think we always wonder how others perceive us.  It’s vanity, it’s self-consciousness; call it what you will, but it’s there.  How much we care about it varies. 

Sometimes I think I come across as being a bit of a fool, in person, at least.  It’s because I don’t want to come across as a snob.  I’ve been dumbing it down for so long that that’s my persona now.  It’s tiresome having to explain the “big words”, so sometimes it’s easier just not to use them.  Sometimes they just slip out, and I get some really funny looks.  How did an idiot like me learn a word like that?

I think it’s in bad taste to brag about education, IQ, or accomplishments.  If you want that information, I can send you a resume.  But sometimes, when being spoken down to by someone who I KNOW doesn’t know what they’re talking about, I just want to say “Here – here’s my stuff.  Now shut up and stop making assumptions.  You don’t know me at all, and you’re just making a damned fool of yourself.”

What? What?

