We are here, We Are Here, WE ARE HERE, WE ARE HEEEERE!!!

Standard

Okay, don’t laugh at me? Promise?

I’m scared. 

I’m scared that the world is ending.  I’m not going to go out and get a big bell and run up and down the streets wearing a sign that says “The END is NEAR”, but I’m still pretty fucking concerned, honestly.  First, because of all the natural disasters that have been happening lately.  You know when you’re run down, because you’ve been treating yourself badly, and you get sick?  Think of the Earth as your body.  It’s trying to tell us something, folks. 

Secondly, in my book, no nukes is good nukes.  I’m seriously worried about the reactors in Japan.  That can’t be good for them, or anyone.  Yes, the Pacific is a very big ocean.  I know.  I’m still worried.

Thirdly, the US is so goddamn pleased that they finally caught Bin Laden (after, I’m sorry, HOW many years)?  They’re all singing “Ding, Dong, the Witch is Dead”, but really?  Now Al Quaida’s just pissed off.  When Kennedy was shot, did the US government just shut down?  No, they installed Johnson and carried on.  What makes them think that’s the end of terrorism?  Because now a) Bin Laden is a martyr to a cause that loves martyrs and b) they’re pissed off and going to be looking for revenge.  And when they take revenge, then the US will want revenge on them for taking revenge and…well, you get the picture.  An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind.  I think that was Gandhi who said that, but whether it was or not, it holds true. I’m very, very scared and I’m not even American, I’m just their next-door neighbour.  I can see a global war coming, because although no one really wants to back the neighbourhood bully, we’re all afraid not to.  I understand pride and patriotism;  what I don’t understand is being unable to accept that not all cultures have the same values, and that the US seems unable to keep itself from interfering with them.  Maybe you are the Greatest Country in the World.  If you’re American, and have American values, you probably believe you are.  But we’re not all American, nor do we want to be.  Sorry for the rant, and I apologize in advance to my American friends. I’m not tarring you all with the same brush. 

And finally, there’s a federal election today, and it’s not lookin’ good here in the Peterpatch.  I once again reiterate my offer to drive local people to the polling station.  Happy to.  PM me.  Please vote.  Not that it’ll do any good this time, but who knows?

Horton heard the Whos.

7 responses »

  1. How can I laugh at you when this is almost the same as the blog rant I wrote in my 'ead this morning (in the shower, where I do all my blog writing). I hate the crowing about the fact that they killed him. A truly honourable, great nation would have captured him alive and had him tried. Which could've happened years ago had they not thought, hmm, he's so hard to find; let's nail someone easier – how bout Saddam?

  2. Phew. A voice in the wilderness. I wonder sometimes if I'm crazy, but honestly – I think it's the world at large that's mad. So, there's at least two of us…I know! A COALITION!!!

  3. Posted by another Facebook friend, the wise Rae Vyn:"I mourn the loss of thousands of precious lives, but I will not rejoice in the death of one, not even an enemy. Returning hate for hate multiplies hate, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars. Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that" – MLK, Jr.

  4. You are not crazy, and there are thousands and thousands of people in this world who believe in bringing criminals to trial and are condemning this assassination. Because a just country and system does NOT carry out targetted assassinations.For a voice of sanity, you should try reading and listening to democracynow.org. The best reporter in the whole wide world in my opinion is Amy Goodman.And when you really get down in the dumps about the fate of the world my advice is to turn off all of the news. Take a break. You can't suffer and mourn and feel the pain for everybody in the world who's being done wrong without going loco. Trust me on this one! Remember that there's wonderful fantastic lovely great stuff happening in every single community on earth right now as well.And what a great quote from MLK Jr! Can I post it? Would you mind?

  5. Please do post it, I think it needs to be spread around. I yoinked it from Rae, who yoinked it from MLK! I'm tired of feeling crazy now. I'm going to go to bed soon, if I can tear myself away from election coverage. Who the hell knows what we'll wake up to?

  6. Well, now I am reading and hearing that this quote is not the words of King at all, and that it got all f**ked up on twitter or some damn thing. Know what? I don't really care. It speaks to me and comforts me and it doesn't matter who said it, it's true. I'm falling apart and I really wish people would stop dissecting things to pieces. Sometimes things can just be felt, they don't always need to be proved. Who said that? Me, just now, that's who.

What? What?

