And Who Might You Be?

Standard

I was listening to Definitely Not the Opera on the radio on my way home from beautiful downtown Lindsay today, and their topic was the phenomenon of a word being on the tip of the tongue.  This happens to me more frequently than to most people, I think.  Something in my brain just doesn’t connect.  I think sometimes I have knob and tube up there.

Once we were going out to a family dinner, and my sister-in-law called and asked me if I would bring my folding chairs.  Happy to oblige, I sent Thing One down to the basement to get them.  That is, I tried to send him down, but I couldn’t remember the word for those four-legged things we sit on.  The word “chair”, for some reason, just wasn’t in my head any more.

Now, I can understand not remembering words like “dirigible” or “contemptuous”, but CHAIR?  Pretty basic.  It’s a handy, everyday word.  Even the Amish make chairs.  They’re kind of a staple.

Names are even worse, especially actors.  Faces, I can recognize.  Names, not at all.

All of this disappearing information invariably comes to me at one of two times.  In the middle of the night, I might scream “Russell Johnson played the Professor on Gilligan’s Island!”.  That’s probably why I sleep alone most of the time…

Or on the can.  Often the only thing that will release those tricky tip o’ the tongues is a seat on the throne.

And it’s only getting worse with age.  I worry that one day I will develop dementia of some kind, and forget even the people I know and love, and that faces, as well as names, will start to disappear from memory.  I hope those people will remind me, in a way that restores that connection.  Even so, we don’t know people when we’re first born, and we are loved just the same, so hopefully that will continue up until death.

One response »

  1. I forget simple words too. Especially the simple ones! Like for example, last night, I was asking Carter a question… and… I forget what I forgot. But I remember I forgot, which is something.

What? What?

