Facebook

Standard

Facebook.  Not a good place to be Canadian.

1. I’m always a little timid about making friend requests.  You may not want to be friends with me, and hey, that’s okay.  Maybe you’ll ask me sometime.

2. I accept (almost) all friend requests. I think it’s kind of rude not to. Even if you were the kid who was mean to me in grade seven. Maybe you’ve changed.  Maybe I have.  Then once in a while, I go through and cull out the herd, usually starting with the kid who was mean to me in grade seven.  I don’t think most people really change that much.  If you didn’t like me then, you probably won’t like me now.  I’m even MORE so, if you can believe that.  I wonder what HAPPENED to the kid who was mean to me in grade seven, but I don’t necessarily want to be friends with him.  That smacks of sheer nosiness to me.

3. I only delete people who probably won’t even notice I deleted them.  I don’t want anyone to feel unwanted.  I try to keep my list under 100 people.  I don’t know why, I just do.  It seems to me like I couldn’t be on friendly terms with 800 people, I could never get to know them well enough to know whether or not I liked them.

4. I also delete people who make me feel awkward or bad about myself.  It’s no reflection on them.  They’re probably very nice people, but for some reason, they make me feel yukky. Or remind me of a time in my life when I felt yukky.  On the other hand, I do have a list of people whom I’ve blocked.  Some of them are nice people;  most of them are not.

5.I can’t delete relatives!  I can’t think of any I’d WANT to delete, but I just don’t think that’s cool.

Everyone on my Facebook is there for a reason.  Some of you I know from way back, some from just recently.  Some of you are intimate friends, some of you I’ve never met in person.  I saw some of you just yesterday, some of you I haven’t seen in person for 30 years.  Hopefully I’m on yours for a reason.

One response »

What? What?

