I’m Really Done With You

Standard

I’m done with monsters.  Really.  Until I get Rebecca Danger’s new book, I promise not to make any more monsters.  After that, all bets are off.

I realized just today that the Fiddlehead Mittens are by Hello Yarn.  I knit their Pirate Mittens years ago when I had much less knitting experience, so I don’t think they’re going to be as difficult as I had anticipated.  

I had a not-so-great day yesterday; an anxious, nervous, frustrating sort of day.  I have a lot on my mind lately.  Connor is moving back to Toronto, and I’ll miss him.  I worry about him, I’m a Mum, I can’t help it, it’s my JOB.  Also, my doctor’s office called, and they want to see me about my cholesterol.  I suspect it’s not to tell me how awesome it is.  Come on, doc, I quit smoking already.  I can’t do everything all at once, or I crash and burn and fail at everything.  I know that about me, even if you don’t.  Once I’m completely healed, I’m rejoining Goodlife.  I used to go four times a week to the women-only club on Charlotte Street, which I really liked.  They open at 5:30 a.m., which is great for me.  I only stopped going when I got divorced and couldn’t afford childcare, so I’m at the point in my life now where I can start going again.  I would really like to be in the shape I was ten years ago, I felt great.  I felt strong.  I felt like I was looking after myself, and therefore was better able to look after everything else.  I’d like to feel that way again.

Anyway, yesterday,  I couldn’t go out until the VON had been, and I never do know quite when they’re going to come, so I’m entirely at the mercy of their schedules.  Although, I understand it was FREAKIN cold out, and being in was probably for the best anyway, but it still would have been nice.  By the time they came, it was too late to do anything.  I could have been out and back, but it would not have been good if I had missed them.

I try to be very reasonable and agreeable with people.  My chicken’s underdone?  Not the waiter’s fault, be nice, just send it back for a little more cooking.  You have a lot of people to see today?  No rush, no problem, I’m here all day today.  No fuss, no problem, no need to make a big scene.

But what happens is, people get used to it.  They know I won’t make a big fuss, so they slip in the people who WILL make a big fuss ahead of me.  It’s rational behaviour on their part, but it makes me feel invisible after a while.  I know from my own employment that the clients I remember are not the ones who are rational and agreeable.  I try not to be swayed by demanding arrogance, but sometimes it’s impossible not to be.

So – does the squeaky wheel get the grease?  Or do the meek inherit the earth?

2 responses »

  1. The meek shall inherit the earth, for their is the kindom of heaven.Which means the meek only get that inheritance after they themselves are making like doornails. Goners. Deadies.Which leads us to, the squeaky wheel gets the glorious grease!You don't have to be filled with demanding arrogance, but you can certainly go forth and squeak.

What? What?

