Huh? What Am I Supposed to Put Here?

Standard

Hey.  Welcome to my blog.  Lots have people have asked me if I have a blog, because they’d like to read it.  Well, now I do.  And now that I do, I don’t have a single thing to say.

I’m a 47 year old, happily divorced, sarcastic, completely neurotic, socially awkward civil servant.  Conversely, I’m also a cockeyed optimist. I love my weird little life, and negativity and ingratitude really infuriate me.  I can write a little. I like to think I’m fairly intelligent, but I can be a bit of an intellectual snob.  I like fooling around with wool and other fluff, spinning yarn and knitting.  My very favourite thing to knit is toys. 

I have two teenage boys, one who now lives on his own, and one in grade 11.

I’ve quit smoking many times, my longest stretch was five years.  Currently, I’ve been off the butts since September 22, 2010.  I’m hoping this is the last time, it’s a really loathsome habit.  Non-smokers can’t understand how addictive it is.  Let’s put it this way – if it was easy to quit, everyone would.  It’s not easy, it’s hell.  Don’t be a douche to smokers who can’t quit.

I have no interest whatsoever in cooking or gardening, and I’m a big fan of the great indoors. I won’t go camping with you, don’t even ask, unless there is a real bed with real high-thread-count sheets, a real bathroom, and a concierge.  I’m basically kind of a lazy slug.  I’m not an expert in any one subject, but I have a vast knowledge of useless trivia on a million subjects.  I read (and have read) a lot, but again, not on any one subject in particular.  I’m a graduate of York University, and I hold an Honours Degree in Drama Studies from the Faculty of Fine Arts.Whoop dee doo, Basil.

I was born in New Liskeard, but only lived there very briefly as a baby.  I have two brothers, one older and one younger.  We grew up on Bracebridge, Ontario, and we all went to BPS and BMLSS.  I was a straight A student throughout  public school, but had a spotty academic record in highschool as there were several subjects which just bored the living crap out of me, and I stopped paying attention.  I loved English, music, art and drama – not so much math, history, science and French.  I don’t count Phys Ed, it’s not a real subject.  I only have one side to my brain, apparently.  Strangely enough, I can still read enough French to get by, I use basic business math every day, and I love historical fiction.

When I was little, I did NOT want to be a nurse, teacher, ballerina, or secretary. I wanted to be either Captain Kirk, or a land surveyor.  Hey, all you younger women – be happy, things have opened up for you.  Don’t be bashing the old-school feminists.  I’m proud to be a feminist, always have been, always will be.  Say it loud, say it proud, look out for yourself, because no one else will.  I have always been taller than all the other kids, which led me to grow up being very self-conscious and prickly.  I’m still prickly, but I don’t care anymore that y’all are so teeny.  Just don’t ask me to lift stuff or reach stuff for you.  Do it yourself.

I’m pretty big on “do it yourself” in general.  I get very antsy about asking anyone to do anything for me, I’m screamingly independent.

I lean pretty far to the left politically, but not far enough to fall down.  I’m compassionate, but not gullible.  I’m spiritual, but not religious.  I like to spend a lot of time alone.  I try not to be annoyed by other people, but I’m not always successful in hiding my annoyance, which tends to get me in hot water.  People tell me I’m funny.  I think I’m funny, I crack me up.

I either give people way too much inappropriate information about myself, or clam right up and hide everything.  Which is the real me?  Who can say?  I can’t, that’s for sure.

2 responses »

  1. Welcome to blogging. Now hopefully you don't do what I tend to do. I start out blogging a lot, then it drops down to every now and then, to eventually I ignore my blog completely. And then I start a new blog with the same zeal as a new relationship.

What? What?

